Eat a rainbow.

These days the internet is filled with recipes and photos of this lovely rainbow cakes and I couldn’t wait for an occaison to try it myself. So finally, my nephews 16th birthday gave me the perfect excuse to create something a little bit spacy – so here is the rainbow cake he got! The original is made with lots of white cream but I had to camouflage it as a chocolate cake – so this is my version with lots of apricot jam and chocolate icing. For the original recipe go to the Whisk Kid blog.

And here is my recipe for a 26 centimeter baking pan and with jam instead of white cream:

339 g butter, room temperature
699 g sugar
7,5 egg whites
3 tsp vanilla
562 g flour
6 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
2 1/4 cups of milk
1 glass apricot jam
2 cups of chocolate icing

Preheat the oven to 175°C and follow the other instructions on Whisk Kid’s blog! Don’t worry for a moment, this recipe is marvellous! And for  a little bit more inspiration, see many other possibilities for rainbow cakes on foodgawker!

About Mardou
Hi! My name is Manuela Heidenreich but sometimes I'm Mardou around the web. I live in Vienna, work as a multimedia designer and try to be an illustrator in my spare time. This blog is about everything that fascinates me - no more, no less.

Leave a Reply

