Day 02: Top five favourite books.

Day 2 of my 30 days challenge – books. This decision also wasn’t too hard to make because there are some books that will always have a special place in my heart:

  • “High Fidelity” by Nick Hornby – I think the movies made me start reading Nick Hornby’s books but I don’t think “High Fidelity” was the first. I really love the movie and I equally appreciate the book. Hornby is one of my favourite authors whatsoever and it maybe not fair to put one on top of the list – but it has to be one.
  • “The World According To Garp” by John Irving – My beloved partner in crime introduced me to John Irving’s books. By now I have read some of them but the first one was “The World According To Garp”. Sadley my English wasn’t too good back then and I read the German version – but nonetheless it really moved me. I remember reading it more or less in nonstop for some days and crying in my childhood-room through the last pages of it.
  • “On The Road” by Jack Kerouac – Around the time I met my husband I wrote a lot of small poems myself and was constantly on the search for other writers on the, back then quite new, internet. I met many vibrant personalities and many of them were enthusiastic Beatnik fans. So it wasn’t long until I read “On The Road” – the Beatnik bible if you like so. And it really gets to you when you’re seventeen and wild and full of dreams – and it stays too.
  • “The Sorrows Of Young Werther” by Johann Wolfgang Goethe – One of the book we had to read for school when I was about fifteen. I wasn’t too keen about it in the beginning but I really fell for it. It’s the best book a teenager with all the heartache, wild dreams and hopes can read and also the worst. Because it really hits you in the guts and I don’t wonder why so many young lads killed themselves back then when it was first published. I’m not a big fan of the classics but I admire Goethe a lot for this book – mostly because it seemed so fresh and up to date to me back then and I guess it always will be for all the haunted teenage souls out there.
  • “Chart Break” by Gillian Cross – This isn’t a classic or very popular book but it was the book that acutally started me reading. When I was around thirteen I didn’t read a lot – everything else was lots more interesting. But my mother kept throwing books at me, everything that she could get hold of, in the hope that I would read more. She really had a hard time with me but then by luck she came across “Chart Break” and gave it to me, maybe for Christmas or a birthday, I don’t remember. And I loved it. It’s about a young girl in England that meets a punk rock band and falls in love with one of the guys. It’s about changing from a child to a young adult, it’s about dreams and hopes, about rejection and love and about a wild, unpolished punk scene back in the early 90s.
About Mardou
Hi! My name is Manuela Heidenreich but sometimes I'm Mardou around the web. I live in Vienna, work as a multimedia designer and try to be an illustrator in my spare time. This blog is about everything that fascinates me - no more, no less.

Leave a Reply

